Keeping Up With the Joneses

a place to sort out my thoughts about the net and my place in it….

How I've Been Keeping Up

with 4 comments

So, yet again, I’ve been toying with the idea of throwing in the towel and giving up blogging.

Google is such a bear to deal with these days. The so-called SEO tips of yesterday are just not working. It seems to be all about getting a lot of un-reciprocated links as far as I can tell.

So while I am going back to formula in terms of SEO, here are a few strategies I am going to try in order to increase traffic:

  • I’m not much of a commenter but I’m going to break the mode and do some.
  • Offer up a little more flare, spark, and snark to posts. I can’t simply regurgitate what’s already out there. I need to share my take on issues a little more. This is a little scary. I definitely don’t want to post something that is going to come back to haunt me, but you can’t make any gains without taking chances. I’m looking for a balance here.
  • If targeting keywords, not simply repeating “the target keywords” continuously, but mixing it up a bit.

I am also dealing with some behind the scenes issues, which are numerous and never-ending:

  • updating databases
  • submitting to directories
  • validating code
  • setting up analytics
  • reducing ads to focused products; or eliminating completely on personal blog
  • fixing categories and archives to avoid duplicate content issue; I chose to simply have title displays on category pages; others go with excerpts
  • adding the all-in-one-seo
  • updating blogroll
  • updating robots.txt files
  • password protecting wp-admin.
Written by DonKatCha

August 11, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Posted in About Blogging

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. > getting a lot of un-reciprocated links

    Lots of one-way quality inbound links have been your way to ranking for quite a few years, all tools are just meant to optimize on-page factors.

    So SEO today is actually about attracting those incoming links …

    uberdose

    August 12, 2007 at 1:29 am

  2. i agree. thanks for wording it a little bit better. 🙂

    donyell

    August 12, 2007 at 9:38 am

  3. Btw., is it now possible to use your own plugins at wordpress.com?

    Also hoping you haven’t given up on blogging, the best is still to come 🙂

    uberdose

    August 18, 2007 at 3:22 am

  4. thanks for the tip 😉

    and i’m still in the blogging game. traffic is increasing ever so slightly and i’m cautiously injecting a little more of “me” into my blogs.

    donyell

    August 18, 2007 at 9:07 am


Leave a Reply

